AJHS tennis team is ISTA division 2 champion!

February 26, 2019
Paul Daza & Gee Abacan

(L-R)  Gee Abacan, Manuel Lazaro, Renzo Castro, James Rohan Cruz, and Miguel Rayo

AJHS tennis players Manuel Lazaro of 10-Gelabert, Renzo Castro of 9-Fernandes, James Rohan Cruz of 9-Machado and Miguel Rayo of 9-Machado won the Inter-School Tennis Association (ISTA) Senior High School Division 2 championship last February 16, 2019. Participating in the tournament were Ateneo de Manila, PAREF Southridge, International School-Manila (ISM), Xavier, and Faith Academy. Ateneo went undefeated but had close matches with Southridge, ISM and Xavier. The competition followed the three-singles-and-two-doubles format, with Ateneo winning the tie 3-2 for each school, with the exception of Faith Academy (5-0 ). Team Ateneo was coached by Gee Abacan in the competition, which was held in the Colegio San Agustin tennis court in Dasmariñas Village, Makati City.