Researchers from the Ateneo School of Government to receive Outstanding Book Award from NAST

July 08, 2016
Researchers from the Ateneo School of Government (ASoG) will be awarded by the National Academy of Science and Technology (NAST) for their recent publication, “Building Inclusive Democracies in ASEAN”, in a ceremony on July 14, Thursday, at the Manila Hotel.
The book, published by Anvil Press in late 2015, is the result of a seminal cross-institutional collaboration among local and international researchers examining the political economy of democratic and economic reforms in the Philippines and ASEAN.
In what is probably the first ever joint publication across their schools, Dean Ronald U. Mendoza and Dr. Antonio G.M. La Viña from the Ateneo School of Government, Dr. Edsel Beja, Jr. from the Department of Economics, Ateneo de Manila University; Dean Ma. Fe Villamejor-Mendoza from the National College of Public Administration and Governance, University of the Philippines Diliman; and Dean Julio Teehankee from the College of Liberal Arts, De La Salle University served as co-editors for the volume.
It also featured contributions from Dr. Allen Hicken of the Department of Political Science, University of Michigan; Dr. Anders Johansson of the Stockholm China Economic Research Institute, Stockholm School of Economics; Dr. Yuta Kamahara of the Institute of Urban Innovation, Yokohama National University; Dr. Julien Labonne of the Blavatnik School of Government, University of Oxford; Dr. Prijono Tjiptoherinato of the University of Indonesia; and Prof. Wong Mun Loong of the University of Nottingham, Malaysia, among others.