The Department of Economics honors this year’s Best Undergraduate Thesis Award

May 28, 2019

The Department of Economics received nine outstanding nominees for the Best Undergraduate Thesis Awards for school year 2018-2019. This year’s panel of judges included Dr. Majah-Leah Ravago, Dr. Rosalina Palanca-Tan, and Ms. Marjorie Muyrong.

The first place was awarded to Mr. Cymon Kayle Lubangco and Mr. Todd Kendall Y. Kue for their paper entitled “Fertility Preferences, Access to Information, and Partner’s Influence as Determinants of the Demand for Contraceptives of Filipina” with Dr. Noel P. De Guzman as their adviser. The second place was awarded to Mr. Jose Adlai M. Tancangco and Mr. Antonio Miguel M. Lagura for their thesis “Solving the ASEAN Infant Mortality Puzzle” under the same adviser, Dr. De Guzman. The Best Poster Award was received by Ms. Kathleen A. Manapat and Ms. Ma. Patricia G. Ramos for the creative presentation of their paper, “Determinants of Tourism Demand in the Philippines”.

The Department annually holds the Best Undergraduate Thesis Awards to recognize students who have produced outstanding research papers. The nominees were recommended by their advisers and a panel of judges evaluated the nominated papers. The awarding ceremony was held at the Faber Hall 101 on 27th of May 2019.