The School of Social Sciences is considered to be the largest of the four schools in the Loyola Schools. It has seven academic departments, four academic programs, and ten centers with approximately 35 graduate programs, 14 undergraduate programs and 11 minor programs.

Currently, its faculty consists of 78 full-time and 147 part-time members while its student body constitutes about 27% of the total undergraduate student population, and 49% of the total graduate student population of the university.