Matti Tan is Overall Best Speaker of 2018 Rotary National Debate

April 16, 2018
ASHS Debaters

From March 24 to 25, 2018, the 5th Rotary National Debate Championship was held in E. Rodriguez Jr. High School, drawing 26 teams from various schools in Metro Manila. The Ateneo SHS team of CJ Carlos (11-Wright), Javy Pineda (11-Garnet), & Matthew Varona (11-Hurtado) reached the grand finals of the debate. Facing off against a team from De La Salle Zobel, the ASHS team opposed the motion, “This house supports the commercialization of indigenous cultures as a means of preservation.” Individually, Varona and Carlos were distinguished as the 9th and 5th Best Speakers of the Tournament respectively. Semifinalists Matthew Mercado (11-Bellarmine), David Africa (11-Tsuji), & Matti Tan (11-Realino) also reaped their own rewards, being awarded as 6th, 2nd, and Overall Best Speakers of the Tournament, respectively. The teams of Raprap Montemayor (11-Wright), Sophia Sibal (11-Mayer), and Johann Claveria (11-Wright), as well as Joro Villaseñor (11-Garnet), Aaron Panotes (11-Borgia), & Jaime Luna (11-Owen) also had respectable finishes in the tournament. 

(L-R) Javy Pineda, CJ Carlos, Matthew Varona
Matti Tan
The Rotary National Debate Championship is an annual Asian Parliamentary Debate Tournament for high school students in the Philippines. It is organized by the Rotary Club of San Francisco del Monte, Rotary International District 3780 (description is taken from Rotary Debate website).

The ASHS Debaters are moderated by Ms. Amyrrha Estolloso. The team was coached by Miguel Ventura, Nicolo Fortuna, and Red Nadela for the competition. The Ateneo Debaters extend their gratitude to Dr. Carmela Oracion, Principal of the ASHS, and the ASHS Office of Student Activities and Formation for their support in the competition.