Six Ateneans Rank Among PSDC’s Top 10 Best Speakers in PH

January 10, 2017
ASHS Debaters

Six Ateneans made the Top Ten Best Speakers in the Philippines roster in the recently concluded Philippine Schools Debate Championship (PSDC). Renz Reyes (12-A) and Luigi Alcañeses (12-A) tied as the Second Best Speaker in the Philippines, Matti Tan (10-Mayer) as the Seventh Best, and David Africa (10-Mayer), Ryan Oquiza (10-Owen), and Matthew Mercado (10-Southwell) all tied as the 8th Best Speakers in the Philippines.

From left: Luigi Alcañeses and Renz Reyes
(L-R) Matthew Mercado, Ryan Oquiza, Matti Tan, David Africa

PSDC is an annual British Parliamentary debate tournament hosted by the Ateneo Debate Society of the Loyola Schools. It was held in the Loyola Schools campus from January 5-8, 2017.  
The total number of breaking teams from the ASHS and AJHS Debaters set a truly impressive PSDC record, with nine teams breaking into the elimination rounds. In their first PSDC ever, the team of Mikko Vitug (11-Pongracz) & Nicole Masagca (11-Chabanel) reached the grand finals of the competition. They are the first ever co-ed Ateneo Senior High School team to accomplish this feat. Mikko Vitug & Nicole MasagcaASHS A, comprised of Luigi Alcañeses & Renz Reyes, and ASHS B, comprised of Hans Gonzalez (11-Hoyos) & Paulo Valencia (12-N) reached the semifinals of the tournament. ASHS C, comprised of Julia Ocoma (11-Favre) & Carlos Tiu (12-A), ASHS G, comprised of Lorenzo Lazaro (12-A) & JC Cruz (12-L), and AJHS A comprised of Matti Tan & David Africa, and AJHS B comprised of Ryan Oquiza & Matthew Mercado, all reached the quarterfinals stage. The team of AJHS C, comprised of Gabe Apostol (10-Mayer) & Benj Dy Quiangco (10-Mayer), reached the octofinals stage of the tournament. Finally, the team of ASHS D, comprised of Nicky Solis (12-B) & Ervin Grana (12-L) broke into the elimination rounds, but were not allowed to compete due to a rule that allows only five teams from one institution to participate in the elimination rounds for the sake of parity.
In total, 6 ASHS teams and 3 AJHS teams broke in PSDC 2017.
The moderators of the ASHS and AJHS Debaters are Mrs. Fe U. De Jesus and Mr. Joel Falgui, respectively. The teams were coached by Miguel Ventura, Isaac Lee, Mahar Mangahas, Henry Fernando, Tres Yap, and Josiah Encinas throughout the competition.
In the coming months, the Ateneo Debaters will be participating in a series of several tournaments, and hope to continue to reap more awards and success for the school.