Bukas Palad Award

Originally called the Peypoch Award, this was first given in 1963 to Msgr Jose Jovellanos. It is named in memory of Fr Manuel Peypoch of the Society of Jesus who taught at the Ateneo de Manila and distinguished himself in serving the Jesuit order, the Church, and society in the areas of education and culture, and social and human development concerns.
The award was renamed the Bukas Palad Award to capture the Ignatian spirit of Generosity. It gives recognition to the unconditional, dedicated service of the Clergy and Religious in Christ’s Kingdom. Motivated by Gospel values, the awardee’s invaluable contribution must be an unmistakable evidence of an extraordinary understanding of the prophetic role of the Church in today’s world. It is a contribution that serves as tangible proof of dedicated service given to one’s fellowmen, especially the poor, the oppressed, the marginalized, the sick, and the suffering—in faith, justice and love.
The award is also meant to remind all Ateneans of the need and worthwhileness of priestly and religious vocation— still so badly needed in the Church—for the service of the Kingdom of God.

Fr Heinrich Kulüke SVD

Bishop Pablo Virgilio S. David DD

Fr Mark Lesage CICM

Orlando B Cardinal Quevedo OMI DD

Sr. Michelle L. Gamboa, RGS

Sr. Amelia G. David, ICM

Msgr. Jose C. Bernardo Jr.
Fr. Sebastiana D'Ambra PIME

Rev. Ciriaco A. Sevilla, Jr. (Posthumous)

Very Rev. Antonio M Pernia, SVD

Fr. Edward F. Malone, M.M.

Fr. Eliseo R. Mercado, OMI
Fr. Charlito Cerio Colendres (Posthumous)
Sr. La Croix de Jesus Ilagan, SPC

Sr. Christine Tan, RGS (Posthumous)

Msgr. Sabino A. Vengco, Jr.
Rev. Luis E. Iriarte, SDB
Rev. Walter J. Maxcy, M.M.
Rev. Francis Chapman, MSSC
Rev. Michel de Gigord, MEP
Rev. Rhoel D. Gallardo, CMF   

Heroic Filipino Priests, Brothers, and Nuns in East Timor
Sr. Cecilia del Mundo, FMA
Sr. Olivia Sadaya, FMA
Sr. Maria Fe Silva, FMA
Sr. Marivic Sombero, FMA
Sr. Evangelina Evangelista, OP
Sr. Marylu Mariano, OP
Sr. Pelagia Virtudazo, OP
Sr. Petronila Lalic, CM
Sr. Ester Padilla, CM
Sr. Susan Nimfa Timbal, CM
Rev. Edmund Barreta, SDB
Rev. Rolando Fernandez, SDB
Rev. Ramoncito Padilla, SDB
Rev. Aguedo Palomo, SDB
Rev. Jose San Juan, SDB
Bro. Ephrem Santos, SDB
Rev. Noel Villafuerte, SDB
Rev. Andrew Wong, SDB
Rev. Cyrus Claro V. Banque, CMF
Rev. Renato B. Manubag, CMF
Rev. Ricardo T. Salomon, CMF
Sr. Mary Baradero, SPC
Sr. Carmen Pangilinan, SPC
Sr. Bernadette Velayo, SPC
Sr. Edna Machilas, FdCC
Sr. Violeta San Miguel, FdCC
Sr. Charito Torrefranca, MM
Msgr. Jose C. Abriol
Sr. M. Soledad Hilado, OSB
Rev. Domingo M. Moraleda, CMF
Mother Mary Aurora, SSpSAP (Josefina Marasigan)
Bishop Benjamin D. de Jesus, O.M.I, D.D. (Posthumous)
Sr. Victoria Pascasio, S.Sp.S.
Sr. Ramona Mendiola, I.C.M.
Msgr. Francisco G. Tantoco Jr.
Archbishop MarianoG. Gaviola, D.D., J.C.D.
Rev. Lino F. Banayad, S.J. (Posthumous)

Bishop Bienvenido S. Tudtud, D.D.(Posthumous)

Bishop Gaudencio B. Rosales, D.D.
Bro. James Dunne, S.J.
Sr. Mary Assumption Ocampo, RGS
Sr. Patricia Marie Callan
Ms. Mathilde Buhl Beckers
Sr. Mary Dorothy O’Connor, RGS
Sr. Milagros Dayrit, R.A.
Sr. Maria Socorro Angela Reyes, SPC
Sr. Eusebia Vilanueva, SPC   
The Society of the Divine Word
Rev. Benigno P. Dagani, S.J.
Religious of the Virgin Mary
Sr. Valeriana Baerts, I.C.M.
Sr. Auxilindis Streibel, S.Sp.S

Rev. Leo A. Cullum, S.J.
Most Rev. Gerard Mongeau, O.M.I.
Rev. Ruben Villote
Rev. Walter B. Hogan, S.J.
Sr. Redempta Biltereyst, I.C.M.
Rev. Thomas McMahon, C.Sr.R
Rev. Leo Hofstee, O.P.
Rev. Henry L. Irwin, S.J.
Rev. John A. Pollock, S.J.   

Rev. William J. Galvin, M.M.
Rev. Luis Jalandoni
Rt. Rev. Msgr. Dominga Librea

Rt. Rev. Msgr. Jose N. Jovellanos

Criteria for Nomination and Selection

  1. The award can only be given to members of the clergy and religious community, or to religious orders.

  2. The candidate must exhibit the Ignatian spirit of Generosity, manifested in unconditional and dedicated service to the Church and God’s people, especially the poor, oppressed, marginalized, sick, and suffering.

  3. The candidate’s achievements must be notable and serve as testaments to God’s love for mankind.