3 AGS mathletes win gold in first ever PhIMO

June 08, 2021

Recent Ateneo de Manila Grade School graduates Magnus Navarro (6-Bellarmine), Darren Uy (6-Xavier), Zion Uy (6-Campion), Rohan Herrera (6-Xavier) and Sieggy Cajucom (6-Bellarmine) all won medal awards in the 1st Philippine International Mathematical Olympiad (PhIMO) heat round, which was held online on April 18, 2021. Magnus, Darren, and Zion each won gold, while Rohan and Sieggy won silver and bronze, respectively, in the Primary 6 division.

The PhIMO is the newest and most sophisticated international mathematics competition among kindergarten to grade 12 students. It is designed to honor the best learners in the world in mathematical problem-solving through friendly competition, and to foster cultural exchange among the participating countries. In its first year, the PhIMO heat round attracted more than a thousand participants from Australia, Bermuda, Cambodia, Canada, Germany, Indonesia, Japan, Norway, Philippines, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, USA, and Vietnam.
The PhIMO heat round awarding ceremony was held online on May 1, 2021. The final round will be held in Davao this September.