Fellows to the 13th Ateneo National Writers Workshop named

April 15, 2015

The Ateneo Institute of Literary Arts and Practices (AILAP) and Kritika Kultura (KK) have selected 20 fellows for the 13th Ateneo National Writers Workshop (ANWW) to be held at the Ateneo de Manila University from May 11 to 15, 2015. The 13th ANWW is organized by AILAP and KK with the support of the National Commission for Culture and the Arts (NCCA).
ANWW is the flagship project of the Creative Writing Desk of AILAP. Annually, 10 to 15 fellowships are given to young writers from around the country who wish to undergo a week of intensive training in their respective genres, namely fiction, poetry, and drama. This year ANWW has also accepted fellows for essay and hybrid text as part of AILAP’s efforts to further discourses in emerging literary genres.
In collaboration with Kritika Kultura, the internationally-recognized journal of language, literary, and cultural studies based in the Department of English, Ateneo de Manila University, ANWW has also accepted for the first time fellows working on critical essays on the theme of Philippine literature and diaspora. The partnership between AILAP and KK aims to foster dialogue and collaboration between practitioners (both emerging and established) of creative and critical writing.
The fellows for the 13th ANWW are:
For poetry in English:
Marc Josiah Lapus Pranza (Davao City)
Bernidick Bryan Punzalan Hosmillo (Candelaria, Quezon)
Joshua Eric Romulo B. Uyheng (Quezon City)
For poetry in Filipino:
Noel Galon (Iloilo City)
Juleini Vivien I. Nicdao (Orani, Bataan)
Miguel Enrico C. Paala III (Bautista, Pangasinan)
For fiction in English:
Nimruz A. De Castro (Batangas City)
Edmond Julian Y. Dela Cerna (Davao City)
For fiction in Filipino:
Emmanuel T. Barrameda (Imus City)
Jolly M. Lugod (Baler, Aurora)
For drama:
Andrew Bonifacio L. Clete (Las Piñas City)
Rouchelle R. Dinglasan (Dasmariñas City)
For essay in English:
Stephanie Shi (Quezon City)
For essay in Filipino:
Rhea B. Gulin (San Jose del Monte City)
For hybrid text:
Carlos Quijon Jr. (Quezon City)
For criticism:
Sylvelyn Jo Almanzor (Manila)
Kathrine D. Ojano (Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya)
Oscar Tantoco Serquiña, Jr. (Quezon City)
Christian Tablazon (Los Baños, Laguna)
Jillian Joyce O. Tan (Manila)
The panelists for creative writing include: Alexis Abola, Mark Anthony Cayanan, Michael Coroza, Conchitina Cruz, Daryll Delgado, Mikael De Lara Co, Allan Derain, Laurel Fantauzzo, Vicente Groyon III, Eli Guieb III, Ramon Guillermo, J. Pilapil Jacobo, Rosario Cruz Lucero, Glenn Sevilla Mas, Allan Popa, Jerry Respeto, Joseph Salazar, Edgar Samar, Benilda Santos, Vincenz Serrano, Martin Villanueva, and Alvin Yapan. 
The panelists for criticism are: Oscar Campomanes, Jayeel Serrano Cornelio, Francis Gealogo, Ramon Guillermo, and Lily Rose Tope.
The week will also feature events in the evening, specifically a poetry reading by Conchitina Cruz, a fiction reading by Alvin Yapan, a conversation on hybrid text by Ramon Guillermo and Vincenz Serrano, and a collaborative workshop between the creative writing and criticism fellows.
This year’s workshop director is Martin Villanueva.
For queries, write Christoffer Mitch C. Cerda and Mark Benedict Lim, coordinators of ANWW 13, at ccerda@ateneo.edu and mblim@ateneo.edu or call them at (02)4266001 local 5320/5321.