The School's History

The School of Social Sciences was one of the four schools that was established after the School of Arts and Sciences was restructured into the Loyola Schools in 2000. The first dean of the newly-formed Ateneo School of Social Sciences was Fr. Jose M. Cruz, S.J. who served from 2000 to 2012.

The school was based in the Social Sciences Building until 2007 when the Ricardo and Dr. Rosita Leong Hall was inaugurated as its new home. The Social Sciences Building still houses the Department of Communication and the Department of Education while the Leong Hall houses  the Department of Economics, the Department of History, the Department of Political Science, the Department of Psychology, the Department of Sociology and Anthropology, as well as the Chinese Studies Program, the Development Studies Program, the European Studies Program, and the Japanese Studies Program.

Filomeno V. Aguilar, Jr., PhD was appointed as dean of the school in 2012. He was succeeded by the current dean, Fernando T. Aldaba, Ph.D. in 2015.