The School of Social Sciences is the largest of the five Loyola Schools in terms of student population, faculty members, and the number of academic departments, academic programs, and research/outreach centers.

Its student body constitutes about a third of the total undergraduate student population, and almost half of the total graduate student population of the university. It has six academic departments, six academic programs, and eight centers with 30 graduate programs, 15 undergraduate programs, 14 minor programs, and several extramural Asian language courses.
Delivering these undergraduate and graduate programs and courses are 122 full-time and 219 part-time faculty members. Seven out of ten full-time faculty members and one in every four part-time faculty members are PhD-degree holders. Moreover, one in five ranked faculty members are Full Professors or Professor Emeriti.


The School of Social Sciences, Ateneo de Manila University, through multidisciplinary teaching, research, creative work, and outreach initiatives, equips individuals and communities with perspectives and skills for local, national, and global transformation, in the Jesuit tradition of excellence, service, and the promotion of justice.


The School of Social Sciences, Ateneo de Manila University, is a leading academic institution of the social sciences in Asia and the Pacific that forms individuals who are competent, ethical, and responsive to local and global social realities.


Departments & Programs

Social Science Building
Chinese Studies
Magisterial Lecture taping at Hyundai Hall, Arete
LS classroom
Development Studies
Pathway to Rizal Library First Pacific Hall
European Studies
Migratory egret on campus
Japanese Studies
Path between RL and SOH
Korean Studies
University Road
Political Science
Loyola Heights campus in the morning, December 2021
Sociology and Anthropology